Should The Mayor Apologize for AD Controversy?

ad-controversy-005

Community groups are calling on Mayor Bill White to apologize for a controversial ad that they say insulted and offended the African American community.

ad-controversy-006

ad-controversy-001

The ad, which ran as part of an inauguration special in the Houston Defender Newspaper puts White in the middle of  Dr. Martin Luther King and President Barack Obama.

The headline above the three men says. The Dream (MLK)  The Hope (Mayor White) and The Change (President Obama). 

Critics say they Mayor is trying to put his record and image on the same level as these two  men who are deeply respected in the African American community.

The ad was paid for by Friends of  Bill White, his mayoral campaign fund and not out of the coffers of his bid for  U.S. Senate.

Community activists  Quannel X and Deric Muhammad say the  mayor was pandering for political gain, and he should issue an apology to those offended.

25 Responses

  1. WOULD YOUR PEOPLE BE HAPPY WITH ANYTHING. wHY ARE YOU ALWAYS LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO BITCH ABOUT.
    SEND THAT D— QUANELL X DA BACK WHERE HE CAME FROM. FINAKLY I AM TIRED OF HEARING ABOUT YOUR PLITE WHEN YOUR HAVE BEEN GIVEN EVERYTHING FOR DOING NOTHING BUT BITCHING AND MOANING.

  2. This is sad. Lets just not celebrate the accomplishments of any African Americans if their response is going to be like this! What happened to “Thank you” or “I appreciate the kind words”. Who is seeing the color of skin now?

  3. First of all, may we say Bill White is respected in the white community or would that be racist? Secondly, Barack Obama who is black and white is highly respected for what? He has only been in office for one week. To take ownership of any human being because of his color is immoral and Mr. MLK said it best when he spoke, “We are all created equal”. Too bad we are not all treated equal.

  4. Mayor Bill White does not owe anyone an apology. Him being in the middle of two African American people that made a difference to me reflects what MLK and President Barack Obama’s message for unity.

  5. Over-reaction over nothing as usual. The Mayor should not apologize.

  6. My God get a life. Mayor White is just campaigning like everyone else. It seemed to be just peachy for BHObama to pig tail on the inaguration trail of Lincoln and no one protested that. If anyone owes an apoligy it would seem to be him for presenting himself as the new Lincoln. At least Mayor White has ligitimate accomplishments he can be proud about.

  7. What does Bill White have to apologize for – what has he done other than being WHITE? Will someone please explain? Who is being racist now? I thought the ad was pretty cool – “The Dream” “The Hope” “The Change”. And I am not Democrat, how about that. What am I missing? If the shoe was on the other foot, Lord look out. All HELL would break loose!!!!! This just infuriates me and I thought we were in the 21st century. Guess NOT!!

  8. I dont think he owes anybody an apology,I think some people just read into things too much.If anything I think they’re the ones being racist, if all three of the men in the photo were african american this would not even be an issue. and I can not believe that with everything going on in this country you people are worried about a picture!!!!!
    May God bless America.

  9. I don’t find anything offensive about the ad, and I’m a Black American. Quanall and his posse should do as the President has asked us to do, find something positive in the community, and do it. Quit gripping about every little thing.

  10. The more I think about this issue the madder I get. If the Defender approved this ad, who gives Quanell X and his “posse” the right to object? What for pete’s sake is wrong with it? There is a lot of things in “ANY” paper I may not like but do you hear me complaining? Noooo. Be a big boy, grow up and ignore it if is offends you and go on. Don’t for heaven’s sake try to make this a racial issue because it’s not!!!!

  11. Anyone who has a problem with the ad just needs to get over it.

    With all the problems we need to solve, I can’t believe this would be an issue. What are their priorities, is it to solve problems or is it self-serving actions to get their faces on television?

    White is just trying to appeal to all segments of our community. Afterall, he is seeking a higher office.

  12. Being a black female I was not offended at all by this ad, all of us are not Muslims, and Quanell X and those other idiots do not speak for me, nor do they represent the opinion of the majority of black people in Houston. I am so sick of these tired azz need a life so-called activists making something out of nothing. If you really want to serve me as member of the black community, concentrate your anger and frustration on turning around these idiots that keep killing each off, instill your so-called pride into them so that the rest of us can live in peace and not have to fear our own race.

  13. quanell X does not speak for me and he does not represent the majority of black people in houston, the only person that speaks for this black woman….is this black woman…and I was not offended…………..I thought it was a nice tribute

  14. I like what Rachel had to say; find someting positive for a change, but we all know that is not how Quanell X makes a living. Think about, where does this brother go to work every day, or is he a mouth-piece out of the goodness of his heart? I think not………….

  15. I thought we were all looking for unity. Seems like Quanell X wants to make racial issues out of nothing (Why do people still listen to this guy?). Isn’t this what he supposedly has been fighting for all these years? Dr. King is rolling over in his grave.

    For the record, I am white, I have black, hispanic, and oriental friends. And I campaigned with people I know to try to change their minds about issues like this all my life. There are 2 types of people in this world: people you like and get along with, and a$$holes.

    I wonder what kind of world Quanell envisions?

  16. What does it mean when you say I’m being moderated?

  17. Honestly, Mr. X should go find a real job and quit sponging off his fellow African American supporters. I think it is ludicrous that he would imply in any way that Mayor White, someone that has been voted into a position of power by people of every race, is trying to take advantange of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. or President Obama by simply honoring their achievements. The only racist individual I find in this story at all is Mr. X himself. Why is it when a white man honors black individuals, they are using them? Maybe it is you that can’t get over your race. I pity you for being such a shallow individual. My kindergarten son has a class full of children of different ethnic origin, however, he has not based his friendships or the other childrens’ accomplishments on the color of their skin, he only discusses their behaviors in the classroom and the type of person they are. I can say with absolute certainty my 5 year old son is a better judge of character and is a much smarter person than you. I also chastise the news programs for even giving Mr. X any airtime. This man is consistenly stirring up trouble and trying to cause racial tensions simply to draw attention to himself. By giving him airtime it is just like giving a 2 year old a bag of candy. Maybe if everyone would stop giving this grown man the attention he is seeking, he can go crawl back into the hole where he belongs.

  18. Where do you get off? What would Dr. King say if he were alive today? Would he in his own words call you a racist jerk or better yet a biggot? If this were a picture of a black man between two people of any other color, I guess that would be ok with you. We would finally be making progress, right? I have many races in my family and I by no means have problems with any of them. Everyone puts their pants on the same way, one leg at a time. Please do not put words in MY mouth by saying it offends me because it doesn’t. Why don’t you get a job and make a contribution to society?

  19. I can’t believe this mess about Bill White? What’s he apologizing for? Since when is it wrong for a white man to admire Dr King and President Obama? Who is not a brother to Americans, but our Commander in Chief. I am, by the way a white woman. I was in 5th grade when my school was integrated. I grew up in a prejudiced home and was whipped a number of times because I could see that the things I was taught about black people were wrong. I believe the stripes I wore entitle me to associate myself with any American hero I choose, whatever race they are. Perhaps Mayor White has similar reasons to associate himself with people not of his race. Racial prejudice is wrong, no matter what race is being prejudiced. I earned my stripes where racial matters are concerned and wore them on my butt as a child. Come together and give it a rest.

  20. Mayor White should not apologize. Quanell X is over exaggerating as usual. Instead of this foolishness, he needs to focus his energies on teaching African American boys how to be responsible citizens.

  21. Shawna – you left your message under the Hall Story – I moved it here.
    I am not offended. Mayor White is spending money with the defender newspaper to keep in step with the the African-American community. He needs to make sure that he has a good African-American voter turnout for the senate election.

    Shawna – January 29, 2009 at 11:56 pm e

  22. Wow! Is it possible that there is not 1 comment on here that agrees with Quanell X? Maybe its time for him to suck it up and apologize.

  23. I WOULD LIKE TO SAY KUDOS TO WRITERS MARILYN AND MARRISA THEY SAID IT ALL. QUANNEL ( RALPH HIS REAL NAME) X IS A JOKE. HE CONTINUES TO CALL HIMSELF A “COMMUNITY ACTIVIST” AND ALL HE IS IS A COMMUNITY AGGITATOR! HE IS NOTHING BUT A CHICAGO EX- LOUIS FARRAKAN REJECTED, DOPE DEALING GANGSTER WHO CONTINUES TO PULL THE WOOL OVER THE BLACK COMMUNITIES EYES, BY PRAYING ON THEM, STIRING THE RACIAL POT, AND SPONGEING MONEY OFF THEM WITH HIS $ 20,000.00 DOLLAR SO CALLED” CONSULTANT FEES” ETC..ETC…WHAT A RACKET…I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE BLACK COMMUNITY PROTESTING HIM!!!!!! AND BY THE WAY “RALPH” AS OF JANUARY 20TH 2009 THE “RACE CARD” CAN NO LONGER BE USED.. MOST OF THE PEOPLE WHO PUT OBAMA IN THE WHITE HOUSE WERE WHITE VOTERS…HE COULD NOT HAVE GOTTEN IT ON THE BLACK VOTE ALONE. I THINK “RALPH -X” IS A WORTHLESS RACIEST BIGGOT, WHO ONE DAY WILL EVENTUALLY GET WHAT HE HAS COMING TO HIM. I HOPE “RALPH” X READS THESE BLOG AND UNDERSTANDS HOW MUCH THE HOUSTON COMMUNITY HATES HIM, HIS CRONIE DERICK MUHAMMAD AND THE REST AND HIS WEAK ASS SO CALLED “BLACK PANTHERS” BOTH THE WHITE AND BLACK COMMUNITIES FEEL THE SAME. THE BEST THING YOU CAN DO”RALPH X” IS LEAVE ON THE NEXT TRAIN OUT OF HOUSTON AND GO BACK TO YOUR CROOKED CORRUPTED COCAIN DEALING LIFE BACK IN CHICAGO. I ALSO THINK CHANNEL 2 SHOULD DO THEIR HOMEWORK ON WHO THIS GUY REALLY IS, AND BE ASHAMED OF GIVING ANY AIRTIME TO THIS HIM. CHANNEL 2 IS JUST AS RESPONSIBLE FOR FUELING THE RACIAL FIRE…YOU WANT TO DO SOME GOOD LARRY BLACKERBY ..THEN START WITH NO MORE QUANNEL BROADCAST TIME..START FOCUSING ON ALL, THE GOOD THAT PEOPLE OF ALL RACES ARE DOING IN THE COMMUNITY AND QUIT GIVING THIS IDIOT YOUR VALUABLE AIR TIME….START HELPING THE POLICE AND THE COMMUNITY BY HAVING MORE POSITIVE STORIES ABOUT THE COMMUNITY AND POSITIVE POLICE RELATIONS… GOOD BYE AND GOOD RIDDENS TO “RALPH X” AND DONT WORRY FOLKS HE WILL SO GET HIS IN THE END…HAVE FAITH!!!

  24. The more I think about this Quanell crap the more upset I get. WHY can’t he let people heal and be equal? If a white man got on the news and said Mayor White had disgraced his people by being in this ad between Dr King and Obama he wouldn’t be a member of the Black Panthers, he’d be a member of the Klan. Think about that Quanell, you and the Klan think alike. I’m ashamed of their views and yours. It’s appalling that such hatred exists.

  25. […] a comment » Should The Mayor Apologize for AD Controversy?: […]

Leave a Reply

