League of Women Voters Houston Honors Political Pioneers

Dozens of heavyweight community leaders and elected officials gathered for an exciting nonpartisan event Friday afternoon.

The League of Women Voters Houston hosted its 10th annual Repast with Political Pioneers. This year the honorees were former Republican Harris County Clerk Beverly Kaufmann and former Democratic elected official and Party Chair Sue Schechter.


Under the guidance of  President Nancy Parra and Executive Director Christina Gorczynski,  the Repast benefits the LWV Education Fund, a  nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring citizen participation in all aspects of government.  The Education Fund provides services including voter registration, voter education and the voter’s guide before every major election.

Hosts June Deadrick and Catherine Mosbacher did an excellent job of  introducing the honorees and giving the audience a revealing look at how both women managed to balance successful political careers while maintaining strong families and loyal friendships.

Faces in the crowd included Elected officials: Harris County Clerk Stan Stanart, District Clerk Chris Daniels, County Treasurer Orlando Sanchez, Commissioners Steve Radack and Jack Morman,  Mayor Annise Parker, Council Member Jolanda Jones,  former Houston Mayor Bill White and his former chief of staff Michael Moore, PR consultant Sue Davis, Pierpont’s Nancy Sims, Planned Parenthood’s Mini Timmaraju, former city council member Ada Edwards, METRO’s Russ Frank. AT&T’s Alice Aanstoos, John Gorczynski, Raymundo Estrada and many more.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: