A Rematch In The Race For City Council At-Large Position 5

While embattled Houston city council member Jolanda Jones fights ethics allegations, she is drawing a familiar opponent.

 

Jack Christie, who lost to Jones in a 2009 runoff ,  has announced he will run for Houston City Council, At-Large Position 5, the seat Jones currently holds.

 “After receiving a tremendous amount of encouragement from both past and new supporters to go for it, I have decided to run,” said Christie. “I have heard a lot lately from folks who are ashamed of what is going on in city government. I said 2 years ago that I would do 3 times the job than the current Council Member, I now know I can do ten times better. I will serve with integrity, as I did when I was Chairman of the Texas State Board of Education, but most importantly I will be a leader that Houston can be proud of. “Our city is thriving and growing, despite the national economic climate.”

In 2009, Jones defeated Christie by less than 1% of the vote. 

Some political insiders believe Jones is vulnerable because of the allegations she used her political office resources and staff to run her law practice.

The case has been refered to the Harris County District Attorney’s Office by the city’s Office of Inspector General.

However, Jones also has a lot opponents throughout the city.  She may be down, but it’s too early to say she’s out.

One thing is for certain – this will be an interesting rematch.

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

