League of Women Voters Houston Honors Political Pioneers
March 25, 2011

Dozens of heavyweight community leaders and elected officials gathered for an exciting nonpartisan event Friday afternoon.

The League of Women Voters Houston hosted its 10th annual Repast with Political Pioneers. This year the honorees were former Republican Harris County Clerk Beverly Kaufmann and former Democratic elected official and Party Chair Sue Schechter.


Under the guidance of  President Nancy Parra and Executive Director Christina Gorczynski,  the Repast benefits the LWV Education Fund, a  nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring citizen participation in all aspects of government.  The Education Fund provides services including voter registration, voter education and the voter’s guide before every major election.

Hosts June Deadrick and Catherine Mosbacher did an excellent job of  introducing the honorees and giving the audience a revealing look at how both women managed to balance successful political careers while maintaining strong families and loyal friendships.

Faces in the crowd included Elected officials: Harris County Clerk Stan Stanart, District Clerk Chris Daniels, County Treasurer Orlando Sanchez, Commissioners Steve Radack and Jack Morman,  Mayor Annise Parker, Council Member Jolanda Jones,  former Houston Mayor Bill White and his former chief of staff Michael Moore, PR consultant Sue Davis, Pierpont’s Nancy Sims, Planned Parenthood’s Mini Timmaraju, former city council member Ada Edwards, METRO’s Russ Frank. AT&T’s Alice Aanstoos, John Gorczynski, Raymundo Estrada and many more.

League of Women Voters Will Honor 2 Political Pioneers
March 15, 2011

They are two of the most respected women in Houston politics. One is a Democrat and the other is a Republican.

On Friday, March 25, 2011, The League of Women Voters will honor former Harris County Clerk Beverly Kaufman(R)

 and former State Representative Sue Schechter(D) for their service to the State of Texas and the Houston Community. 

The event benefits the League of Women Voters Houston Area Education Fund, a 501(c)3 that has a long history of providing non-partisan information about government and the election process in the Houston community

The 10th Annual Repast is billed as “a conversation with a pair of political pioneers.”  The Repast traditionally honorees two women from opposing political points of view. 

The Repast event has honored political pioneers who have contributed in lasting and unique ways to the political process.  Past honorees have included: The Hon. Kay Bailey Hutchison, Former Houston Mayor Kathy Whitmire, and Former Houston City Council Member Eleanor Tinsley. 

There is still time to buy your ticket for this popular event that will sell out:

For more information, please visit http://lwvhouston.org

For table sponsorships or to purchase 10 or more tickets, please call the office, 713.784.2923. To guarantee your reservations, RSVP by Friday, March 18th.

All contributions are tax-deductible to the full extent of the law.

Political Dish Spices Up Election Season
October 27, 2010

Some of  Houston’s savviest political minds and top-notch community leaders joined together Wednesday to dish about  the 2010 statewide and Harris County elections. 

The 4th annual pre-election analysis luncheon, sponsored by Klotz Associaties and Fulbright and Jaworski, was held at the Four Seasons Hotel.  The political analysts shared their thoughts on the upcoming election season and the current political climate.

The bipartisian menu included discussion of  the governor’s race (the esteemed analysts predicted Perry defeats White by 5-8 points), predictions about the outcome of  propositions 1-3 (RENEW Houston is in trouble and Red Light Cameras survive the challenge) and insight on the early voter turnout (Republicans are more enthusiastic than Democrats this election)

The panelists included: Jessica Colon, Franklin Jones, Richard Murray, Mustafa Tameez and Bob Stein.

Some of the people in the crowd talking politics included:  Wayne Klotz, Neil Thomas, Cindy Clifford, Jason Fuller, Judge Zinetta Burney,  Harris County Clerk Beverly Kaufmann, Constable Mae Walker, Adrian Patterson, Russ Frank, Sonia Soto,  Anthony Hall, Craig Washington, Mini Timmaraju, Argentina James and many more.